Home / Japan / JR Pass calculator
JR Pass calculator
The 7 day Japan Rail Pass costs ¥50,000 for ordinary cars[1], checked on 18 October 2026. A one way reserved seat from Tokyo to Kyoto on the Hikari costs ¥13,850[8], so the pass pays for itself after about 4 trips that long in a week. Enter your own trips below to see the sum for your route.
Routes follow official itineraries[18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][27][28][29][30], shortened to their JR trains.
Add a trip to see the sum.
One way fares for one person, reserved seat, regular season, from JR's own fare pages. A pass is worth it when the single tickets for the days it covers cost more than the pass. The calculator does not count discounts such as round trip or online fares.
Japan Rail Pass prices
| Pass | Online, ordinary | Online, Green | Overseas agency, ordinary | Overseas agency, Green |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 days | ¥50,000[1] | ¥70,000[1] | ¥53,000[2] | ¥74,000[2] |
| 14 days | ¥80,000[1] | ¥110,000[1] | ¥84,000[2] | ¥116,000[2] |
| 21 days | ¥100,000[1] | ¥140,000[1] | ¥105,000[2] | ¥147,000[2] |
Two official channels: online at the official site (JAPAN RAIL PASS Reservation) and exchange orders from overseas JR designated agencies. From 1 October 2026 the agency prices rose (7 days 53,000 ordinary, 74,000 Green); online prices stay at the earlier level for a limited time, with the end of that freeze to be announced. The official pages state no separate price for passes bought at stations in Japan; the online pass is picked up at a JR ticket office or machine in Japan. The Green pass also covers ordinary cars.
The official seller is the Japan Rail Pass site run by the JR group. Sendero Guide does not sell passes or tickets.
What the pass covers
| Train or service | Covered | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Tokyo Monorail | Yes | Named as covered on the official pass pages (Haneda Airport to Hamamatsucho).[7] |
| Narita Express | Yes | A JR limited express; the pass covers JR limited express trains, ordinary cars, and Green cars with the Green pass. A reserved seat is free but must be booked.[7] |
| Haruka | Yes | A JR West limited express; covered as a JR limited express. A reserved seat is free but must be booked.[7] |
| JR buses | Yes | Local routes of the eight JR bus companies are covered, except some local routes; JR express (highway) buses are not covered.[5] |
| JR Miyajima Ferry | Yes | Covered between Miyajimaguchi and Miyajima; the Miyajima Visitor Tax of 100 yen is paid separately. The JR Kyushu Jet Ferry to Busan is not covered.[5] |
| Hokuriku Shinkansen (Kagayaki, Hakutaka, Tsurugi, Asama) | Yes | All trains covered in ordinary cars (Green with the Green pass). Gran Class needs the limited express charge and Gran Class charge paid in full.[6] |
| Tohoku and Hokkaido Shinkansen (Hayabusa, Hayate, Yamabiko, Nasuno, Komachi, Tsubasa) | Yes | All trains covered in ordinary cars (Green with the Green pass); Gran Class and TRAIN DESK cars are not covered.[6] |
| Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen, Nozomi | No | Not covered, reserved or non-reserved, unless the holder buys the Nozomi Mizuho Ticket for that section before boarding.[7] |
| Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen, Hikari and Kodama | Yes | Covered. Most Sanyo Shinkansen Hikari and Kodama have no Green car.[6] |
| Kyushu Shinkansen (Sakura, Tsubame) | Yes | Covered. Mizuho is not covered without the Nozomi Mizuho Ticket. Some Series 800 Sakura and Tsubame have no Green car.[6] |
| Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen (Kamome) | Yes | Covered; the Kamome has no Green car.[6] |
| Thunderbird (Osaka and Kyoto to Tsuruga) | Yes | A JR West limited express on JR track; covered as a JR limited express (all reserved, seat booked free).[7] |
| Odakyu (private railway, including Romancecar and the Mt. Fuji through train beyond Matsuda) | No | Private railways need their own fare and charge; the official list names Odakyu for the Mt. Fuji train between Matsuda and Shinjuku.[5] |
| Tokyo Metro and other subways | No | Not a JR line and not among the non JR services the official conditions list as covered (Tokyo Monorail, JR Miyajima Ferry, JR buses and four short third sector sections).[7] |
| Tobu Railway (Nikko and Kinugawa through trains) | No | The section on Tobu track needs its own fare and charge.[5] |
Rules that change the sum
- The pass does not cover Nozomi or Mizuho on the Tokaido, Sanyo and Kyushu Shinkansen, not even non-reserved seats. With the pass you can ride them by adding a NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket for one train and one section, at the same price for reserved, non-reserved and Green seats: for example Tokyo to Shin-Osaka 4,960 yen, Tokyo to Hakata 8,140 yen. It is sold from one month before travel at JR ticket machines and offices, but not for some short pairs (for example Kyoto to Shin-Osaka). Without it, use Hikari, Kodama, Sakura or Tsubame.[3]
- Reserved seat limited express charges change by season: off peak 200 yen less than regular, peak 200 yen more, busiest period 400 yen more, per train used (fares and non-reserved charges do not change). JR East (with the Hokkaido and Hokuriku Shinkansen, Thunderbird and Shirasagi) and the other JR companies (Tokaido, Sanyo, Kyushu Shinkansen, conventional trains between companies) use two different calendars; JR Hokkaido conventional trains are regular all year, and JR Kyushu conventional trains and the Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen have no off peak. All fares here are for Tuesday 20 October 2026, a regular day in both calendars. For the Tokaido, Sanyo and Kyushu calendar the busiest days include 29 and 30 December 2026 and 2 and 3 January 2027; for JR East 28 to 31 December 2026 and 1 to 6 January 2027.[9]
- JR Central and JR West will raise the reserved seat limited express charge for Nozomi and Mizuho on the Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen for tickets bought from 1 July 2027 (Tokyo to Shin-Osaka 14,720 to 15,420 yen, Tokyo to Nagoya 11,300 to 11,880, Tokyo to Okayama 17,770 to 18,530, Tokyo to Hiroshima 19,760 to 20,620, Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima 10,950 to 11,210, Shin-Osaka to Hakata 16,020 to 16,300). Hikari, Kodama and non-reserved seats do not change.[10]
- JR Central and JR West will raise the Green charge on all Tokaido and Sanyo Shinkansen trains for travel from 15 December 2027 (by distance: up to 100 km 1,300 to 2,100 yen, up to 200 km 2,800 to 4,500, up to 400 km 4,190 to 6,700, up to 600 km 5,400 to 8,400, up to 800 km 6,600 to 10,400, over 800 km 7,790 to 12,300). The smartEX and Express Yoyaku online prices change by the same amounts.[10]
- Japan Rail Pass: agency (exchange order) prices rose from 1 October 2026; online prices are frozen for a limited time and the end of the freeze will be announced. Whether the NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket price changes in July 2027 is not stated.[2]
Single fares used by the calculator
| Trip | Train the pass covers | Reserved | Green | Faster train | Reserved | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akita to Sendai | Komachi | ¥10,680 | ¥14,340 | [16] | ||
| Aomori to Akita | Super Tsugaru | ¥5,810 | not stated | [16] | ||
| Hakata (Fukuoka) to Kagoshima-Chuo | Sakura | ¥11,950 | ¥15,610 | Mizuho | ¥11,950 | [8] |
| Hakata (Fukuoka) to Kumamoto | Sakura | ¥5,840 | ¥8,110 | Mizuho | ¥5,840 | [8] |
| Hakata (Fukuoka) to Nagasaki | Relay Kamome to Takeo-Onsen, then Kamome (Nishi-Kyushu Shinkansen) | ¥6,490 | ¥7,260 | [8] | ||
| Hakodate to Shin-Aomori | Hakodate Liner to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto, then Hayabusa | ¥8,490 | ¥10,760 | [16] | ||
| Haneda Airport (Terminal 1, 2 or 3) to Hamamatsucho | Tokyo Monorail | ¥520 | not stated | [13] | ||
| Hiroshima to Hakata (Fukuoka) | Sakura | ¥9,100 | ¥12,760 | [8] | ||
| Hiroshima to Himeji | Sakura | ¥8,440 | ¥12,100 | Nozomi | ¥8,970 | [8] |
| Hiroshima to Miyajima (via Miyajimaguchi and the JR ferry) | JR Sanyo Line local to Miyajimaguchi, then the JR Miyajima Ferry | ¥620 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Huis Ten Bosch to Kumamoto | Limited Express Huis Ten Bosch to Shin-Tosu, then Sakura | ¥8,010 | ¥9,550 | [8] | ||
| Kansai Airport to Kyoto | Haruka | ¥3,590 | ¥4,360 | [8] | ||
| Kansai Airport to Shin-Osaka | Haruka | ¥3,070 | ¥3,840 | [8] | ||
| Kotohira to Oboke | Limited Express Nanpu | ¥2,970 | ¥3,740 | [8] | ||
| Kumamoto to Kagoshima-Chuo | Sakura | ¥7,970 | ¥10,240 | Mizuho | ¥7,970 | [8] |
| Kumamoto to Yatsushiro | JR Kagoshima Line local | ¥870 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Kurashiki to Hiroshima | JR Sanyo Line to Shin-Kurashiki, Kodama, change at Fukuyama to Sakura | ¥5,700 | ¥7,970 | [8] | ||
| Kyoto to Hakata (Fukuoka) | JR Special Rapid to Shin-Osaka, then Sakura | ¥15,500 | ¥21,570 | Nozomi | ¥16,780 | [8] |
| Kyoto to Himeji | Hikari | ¥5,270 | ¥7,540 | Nozomi | ¥5,700 | [8] |
| Kyoto to Hiroshima | JR Special Rapid to Shin-Osaka, then Sakura | ¥11,300 | ¥14,960 | Nozomi | ¥11,940 | [8] |
| Kyoto to Kanazawa | Thunderbird to Tsuruga, then Tsurugi (Hokuriku Shinkansen) | ¥7,720 | ¥11,290 | [8] | ||
| Kyoto to Nara | Miyakoji Rapid (JR Nara Line) | ¥720 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Kyoto to Okayama | Hikari | ¥7,670 | ¥11,330 | Nozomi | ¥8,100 | [8] |
| Kyoto to Shin-Osaka | Hikari | ¥2,870 | ¥3,640 | Nozomi | ¥3,080 | [8] |
| Matsumoto to Hotaka | Limited Express Azusa | ¥1,110 | ¥1,880 | [8] | ||
| Matsumoto to Narai | JR Shinonoi Line and Chuo Line local | ¥610 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Matsuyama to Okayama | Limited Express Shiokaze | ¥7,350 | ¥11,010 | [8] | ||
| Morioka to Sendai | Hayabusa | ¥6,900 | ¥9,170 | [16] | ||
| Nagasaki to Huis Ten Bosch | JR Seaside Liner (rapid, Omura Line) | ¥1,730 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Nagoya to Iseshi | Rapid Mie | ¥2,570 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Nagoya to Kyoto | Hikari | ¥5,700 | ¥7,970 | Nozomi | ¥5,910 | [8] |
| Nagoya to Shin-Osaka | Hikari | ¥6,470 | ¥8,740 | Nozomi | ¥6,680 | [8] |
| Nagoya to Takayama | Hida | ¥6,140 | ¥8,410 | [8] | ||
| Nara to Kurashiki | JR Yamatoji Rapid to Osaka, Sakura from Shin-Osaka to Okayama, then the JR Hakubi Line | ¥7,570 | ¥9,840 | JR Yamatoji Rapid to Osaka, Nozomi from Shin-Osaka to Okayama, then the JR Sanyo Line | ¥7,890 | [8] |
| Narita Airport to Tokyo | Narita Express | ¥3,140 | ¥3,910 | [8] | ||
| Oboke to Matsuyama | Limited Express Nanpu to Tadotsu, then Limited Express Shiokaze | ¥9,190 | ¥12,230 | [8] | ||
| Odawara to Kyoto | Hikari | ¥12,300 | ¥17,170 | Hikari to Nagoya, then Nozomi | ¥12,510 | [8] |
| Okayama to Izumoshi | Limited Express Yakumo | ¥7,020 | ¥10,680 | [8] | ||
| Okayama to Takamatsu | Marine Liner (JR rapid) | ¥2,500 | ¥2,920 | [8] | ||
| Osaka to Nara | Yamatoji Rapid (JR) | ¥840 | not stated | [8] | ||
| Sapporo to Hakodate | Hokuto | ¥9,770 | not stated | [16] | ||
| Sendai (Kagoshima) to Kagoshima-Chuo | Sakura (Kyushu Shinkansen) | ¥3,010 | ¥3,780 | [8] | ||
| Shin-Aomori to Morioka | Hayabusa | ¥6,360 | ¥8,630 | [16] | ||
| Shin-Osaka to Hakata (Fukuoka) | Sakura | ¥15,280 | ¥21,350 | Nozomi | ¥16,020 | [8] |
| Shin-Osaka to Himeji | Sakura | ¥3,750 | ¥4,520 | Nozomi | ¥4,070 | [8] |
| Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima | Sakura | ¥10,420 | ¥14,080 | Nozomi | ¥10,950 | [8] |
| Shin-Osaka to Kagoshima-Chuo | Sakura | ¥23,620 | ¥33,880 | Mizuho | ¥24,360 | [8] |
| Shin-Osaka to Kanazawa | Thunderbird to Tsuruga, then Tsurugi (Hokuriku Shinkansen) | ¥9,410 | ¥14,480 | [8] | ||
| Shin-Osaka to Okayama | Sakura | ¥6,140 | ¥8,410 | Nozomi | ¥6,460 | [8] |
| Shinjuku to Matsumoto | Limited Express Azusa | ¥6,730 | ¥10,390 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Hakata (Fukuoka) | Hikari, change at Shin-Kobe to Sakura | ¥22,750 | ¥30,010 | Nozomi | ¥23,810 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Himeji | Hikari | ¥15,930 | ¥22,000 | Nozomi | ¥16,570 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Hiroshima | Hikari, change at Shin-Kobe to Sakura | ¥18,910 | ¥26,170 | Nozomi | ¥19,760 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Kanazawa | Kagayaki | ¥14,600 | ¥21,060 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Karuizawa | Hakutaka | ¥6,130 | ¥8,400 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Kyoto | Hikari | ¥13,850 | ¥18,720 | Nozomi | ¥14,170 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Mishima | Hikari, change at Atami to Kodama | ¥4,600 | ¥6,870 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Morioka | Hayabusa | ¥15,450 | ¥20,320 | [16] | ||
| Tokyo to Nagano | Kagayaki | ¥8,450 | ¥12,110 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Nagoya | Hikari | ¥11,090 | ¥14,750 | Nozomi | ¥11,300 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Niigata | Toki | ¥10,980 | ¥14,640 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Nikko | Yamabiko to Utsunomiya, then the JR Nikko Line | ¥5,790 | ¥8,060 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Odawara | Kodama | ¥3,810 | ¥4,580 | [8] | ||
| Tokyo to Okayama | Hikari | ¥17,130 | ¥23,200 | Nozomi | ¥17,770 | [8] |
| Tokyo to Sendai | Hayabusa | ¥11,630 | ¥15,290 | [16] | ||
| Tokyo to Shin-Aomori | Hayabusa | ¥18,110 | ¥24,180 | [16] | ||
| Tokyo to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto | Hayabusa | ¥24,200 | ¥33,070 | [16] | ||
| Tokyo to Shin-Osaka | Hikari | ¥14,400 | ¥19,270 | Nozomi | ¥14,720 | [8] |
More on Sendero Guide
- Japan Rail Pass prices. What it costs, where to buy it, and whether it pays on 12 official itineraries
- Shinkansen tickets. Prices, every way to book, and Tokyo to Kyoto and Osaka
- JR regional passes. Prices, and when one beats single tickets
- Hakone Freepass. Price, what it covers, and whether it pays
- Sagano Romantic Train and sightseeing trains. Fares, seasons and when seats go on sale
- Narita Express and airport trains. Narita, Haneda and Kansai airports to the cities
- Hotels near Kyoto Station. And Tokyo Station, nearest first, with prices for two
- Swiss Travel Pass calculator. Pass, Half Fare Card or single tickets?
- Bernina Express. Tickets, prices and timetable
- White Pass & Yukon Route Railroad. Tickets, prices and times, from the railway or a cruise line
- Interrail and Eurail pass calculator. The pass and its reservations against ticket prices
Sources
- Japan Rail Pass (official, JR Group), Types and prices, japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR Group, Price Changes for the Japan Rail Pass (9 April 2026), global.jr-central.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official), Use of NOZOMI and MIZUHO Shinkansen bullet trains, japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official), NOZOMI MIZUHO Ticket, available sections, types, prices (PDF), japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official), Scope of validity, japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official), Train accommodations, japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official), Conditions for use, japanrailpass.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR West, JR Odekake Net, My Dia timetable and fare search (searched for Tuesday 20 October 2026, departures from 10:00), www.jr-odekake.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR East, Season based reserved seat limited express charges (calendar as of 1 April 2026), www.jreast.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR Central and JR West, Revision of Nozomi and Mizuho reserved seat limited express charges and Green charges (16 October 2026, PDF), www.westjr.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR Central, JR West and JR Kyushu, Price revision of Express Yoyaku, smartEX and LINE kara EX (16 October 2026, PDF), www.westjr.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- smartEX (JR Central), smartEX Service prices, reserved seats in ordinary cars, as of 1 April 2025 (PDF), smart-ex.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- Tokyo Monorail, fares from Monorail Hamamatsucho station (PDF), www.tokyo-monorail.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR West Miyajima Ferry, fares, jr-miyajimaferry.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR Kyushu, fare and charge revision page, www.jrkyushu.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR East, eki-net train search (route list, reference price for one person; searched for Tuesday 20 October 2026), www.eki-net.com, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR East, Green tickets (Green charges and the rule for the limited express charge in Green cars), www.jreast.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO (Japan National Tourism Organization), The Kansai Trio: Kyoto, Nara and Osaka, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Old Japan: Kanazawa to Kyoto (Hida Takayama to Kyoto), www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, National Treasures and Nature in Nikko, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Hakone: An Easy Excursion From Tokyo, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Touring Tohoku's Summer Festival Circuit, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JR Hokkaido, Regular tickets (fares and the Sapporo, Hakodate, Shin-Aomori, Morioka, Sendai, Tokyo example), www.jrhokkaido.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, A Cultural Journey of Kyushu, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO Malaysia, Shikoku Train Trip Spring Itinerary, Part 1, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO Malaysia, Shikoku Train Trip Spring Itinerary, Part 2, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Izumo: Land of the Gods, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Food and Culture in Ise, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- Nagano Tourism Organization (go-nagano.net), Three-Day Trip in Matsumoto, www.go-nagano.net, accessed 18 October 2026
- JNTO, Southern Kyushu by Rail, www.japan.travel, accessed 18 October 2026
- Ise Railway, frequently asked questions (tickets such as the Japan Rail Pass cannot be used between Kawarada and Tsu), isetetu.co.jp, accessed 18 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official, JR Group), Purchase at a travel agency overseas, japanrailpass.net, accessed 20 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official, JR Group), sales offices and agents: East Asia, japanrailpass.net, accessed 20 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official, JR Group), sales offices and agents: North America, japanrailpass.net, accessed 20 October 2026
- Japan Rail Pass (official, JR Group), sales offices and agents: Europe, japanrailpass.net, accessed 20 October 2026
- JRPass.com, Order your Japan Rail Pass, www.jrpass.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- Japan Experience, The Japan Rail Pass: journey across Japan, www.japan-experience.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- JTB USA, Japan Rail Pass (JR Pass), Whole country, www.jtbusa.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- Trip.com, [Official ticket] JR Pass all Japan rail pass, www.trip.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- GetYourGuide, Japan: 7, 14 or 21-Day Japan Rail Pass, www.getyourguide.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- Klook, JR Pass listing (page blocked to automated reading), www.klook.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- KKday, Japan Rail Pass (Nationwide), www.kkday.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- Viator, 7-Day Japan Rail Pass Including Shipping Fee, www.viator.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- HIS Travel Japan (his-traveljapan.com), Japan Rail Pass, www.his-traveljapan.com, accessed 20 October 2026
- European Central Bank, euro foreign exchange reference rates of 27 October 2026 (used only for the approximate prices in other currencies), ecb.europa.eu, accessed 28 October 2026